Canada PR

Eligible Criteria

On January 1, 2015, the Government of Canada implemented the Express Entry Immigration system under the Economic Class including the Federal Skilled Worker Program.

Under Express Entry, Federal Skilled Workers eligibility criteria is of 67 points based on six factors: Education, Experience, English Proficiency, Age, Adaptability and Arrange employment. Experience should be in skilled level O, A, B. This is the minimum entry criteria to submit an expression of interest profile to the Express Entry Pool.

The profiles of candidates in the pool are ranked under a Comprehensive Ranking System.  The highest-ranked candidates will be considered for an invitation to apply for permanent residence.   Candidates receiving an invitation must submit a full application within a delay of 60-days.

Federal Skilled Trades Program

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is one of the programs apply through Express Entry system.

To qualify for an occupation that is considered a skilled trade according to the federal government, candidates need to first make certain they meet all the criteria for this pathway. Candidates can then apply through the Express Entry system, stating that this is their program of choice. Applicants will also need to have a valid job offer/certificate of qualification in order to be considered for this particular stream. Achieving a successful Invitation to Apply (ITA) from this application allows candidates to be considered for permanent residence in every province of Canada – apart from Québec, which uses its own guidelines and rules for immigration of skilled workers.

Occupations/fields that qualify for the Federal Skilled Trades Program below.

National Occupation Classification Categories
Major Group 72Industrial
Major Group 73Maintenance
Equipment Operation
Major Group 82Supervisors and Technicians in Natural Resources
Major Group 92Processing and Manufacturing
Utility Supervisors
Central Control Operators
Minor Group 632Chefs and Cooks
Minor Group 633Butchers and Bakers

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) allows participating provinces and territories of Canada to nominate immigrants who wish to settle permanently in their jurisdiction.

You could qualify if you are:

  • a recent graduate from an eligible postsecondary institution in Canada;
  • a skilled worker in an eligible profession or a trade;
  • an entrepreneur or investor.

Use the information below as a starting point to connect with provincial or territorial departments responsible for immigration to Canada to determine the program requirements and determine your eligibility for the PNP.

Choose a province or territory

To be nominated by a province or territory, you must follow the instructions on their website and contact them directly:

The criteria by province and territory vary and can change without notice.

Note: The province of Quebec does not have a provincial nominee program. See their immigration website to learn more about their programs.

Pilot Programs

The Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program (AIPP) is a pathway to permanent residence for skilled foreign workers and international graduates who want to work and live in one of Canada’s 4 Atlantic Provinces:

  • Nova Scotia.
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland
  • Prince Edward.

This is an employer-driven program designed to help employers in Atlantic Canada hire qualified candidates for jobs they have been unable to fill locally.

To immigrate to Atlantic Canada through the pilot,

You must receive a job offer from a designated employer in Atlantic Canada to participate in the pilot.

If you receive a job offer from an employer:

  • ask for a copy of the employer’s Confirmation of Designation, or
  • tell them about the Atlantic Immigration Pilot and ask them to consider becoming designated, if they aren’t already.

your job is listed as Skill Type 0, or Skill Level A, B or C in the National Occupation Classification.

Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP)

There are thirteen communities accepting applications through the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP). Nine communities are open to applicants, the COVID-19 health crisis has caused some of these communities to limit applications to candidates who are already living in the region.

North Bay, ON
Sudbury, ON
Timmins, ON
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Thunder Bay, ON
Brandon, MB
Altona/Rhineland, MB
Moose Jaw, SK
Claresholm, AB
Vernon, BC
West Kootenay (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), BC

Candidates who are interested in applying must make sure that they meet the federal requirements for the program, plus the requirements set out by each community. This includes an eligible job offer from an employer in one of the participating communities.